David Teplow Elected President of the American Committee

• TAGS: Leadership, Philanthropy

David Teplow

David Teplow

NEW YORK, NY—November 30, 2017—At its annual meeting, the American Committee for the Weizmann Institute of Science announced that its Board of Directors had elected a new President, David Teplow of Weston, MA. He succeeds outgoing President Dr. Jay A. Levy of San Francisco, CA, who completed two terms of service.

Mr. Teplow, in collaboration with National Chair Ellen Merlo and CEO Marshall S. Levin, will spearhead the American Committee’s efforts to generate awareness of and philanthropic support for the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel, a world-renowned center of scientific research and graduate study.

The Teplow family’s support of the Weizmann Institute spans generations. Mr. Teplow’s great-uncle Dewey Stone was one of the American Committee’s founders in 1944, and served as its founding Chairman. His father, Ted Teplow, is a lifetime member of the Board of Directors and a member of the Weizmann Institute’s President’s Circle.

Over the past several decades, David Teplow has become an active and impactful lay leader in his own right, serving on the American Committee’s National Board and the Weizmann International Board. He also served as Chairman of the American Committee’s National Ambassadors program from 2004 until the program concluded in 2007. He and his father are currently Co-Chairs of the Weizmann Institute’s upcoming Global Gathering in Boston, which will take place in June 2018.

In addition to his involvement with the American Committee, Mr. Teplow actively supports other noteworthy organizations, including Combined Jewish Philanthropies (CJP) of Boston and the Dana-Farber Cancer Center Institute through the Pan-Mass Challenge, in which he has ridden each of the past 17 summers. Mr. Teplow has devoted the past 30 years to helping companies select and implement the optimal technology for managing data, as founder and CEO of two successful professional services firms, Database Technologies and Integra Technology Consulting. 

“It is a great honor and privilege to begin my term as President,” Mr. Teplow said. “As the American Committee nears its 75th anniversary in 2019, I look forward to working closely with Ellen and Marshall, our leadership, and supporters on critical initiatives. I’m humbled to follow in the footsteps of Dr. Jay Levy, a visionary philanthropist and acclaimed researcher. He has set an inspiring example.”

“I am thrilled that David Teplow has been elected to this key leadership role,” Dr. Levy said. “His passion for Weizmann science is fueled by his deep, multigenerational ties to the Institute, and his own dedication as a lay leader over many years. The American Committee is fortunate to have David as its new President, and I look forward to working with him. I know that he will make an important impact on the Weizmann Institute’s mission to advance science for the benefit of humanity.