Search Results

Showing results 61-71 of 86 for 'Awards'

  • Women-of-Vision-honored-in-Davie-thumb
  • ""Alien"" Arsenic Life Discredited

    <em>Discover</em> magazine's year-end listing of the top 100 stories in science includes research from Weizmann's Prof. Dan Tawfik and team, who were able to help discredit an earlier claim that a bacterium had been found that could exist on arsenate rather than phosphate, like all other life.

  • eshhar-zelig-tn
    Six Leading Scientists to Receive Prestigious Novartis Prizes for Immunology at 16th International Congress of Immunology

    Prof. Zelig Eshhar, whose basic research led to the creation of cancer-killing T-cells, is one of six scientists to receive a 2016 Novartis Prize for Immunology. Announced and granted by the healthcare and pharma company, the prestigious prizes are ""awarded every three years for breakthrough contributions to the fields of basic and clinical immunology.""

  • Milstein_thumb
  • karina-tn
    2016 Midwest Region Women for Science Luncheon

    The Midwest Region hosted the 6<sup>th</sup> Annual Women for Science Luncheon, an inspiring event honoring women who change lives. The program included a presentation by the Weizmann Institute's Dr. Karina Yaniv, and recognized the 2016 Vision and Impact Award honoree Dr. Janice Feinberg.

  • ada-yonath-story
    The Ada Yonath Story

    Learn about the life of Prof. Ada Yonath, who overcame major challenges to become only the fourth woman in history to win the Nobel Prize in Chemistry. She accomplished what many others had tried and failed to do: crystallize the ribosome. Her method is used today to develop new types of antibiotics. In 2009, she won the Nobel Prize for deciphering the structure and function of the ribosome.

  • Michael-Sara-Sela-Tribute
    Tribute to Sara and Prof. Michael Sela

    This tribute video about beloved Weizmann family members Sara and Prof. Michael Sela features conversations with them and longtime friends, and an overview of their life with Weizmann. Prof. Sela is a former Institute president and co-developer of the MS drug Copaxone<sup><span style=""font-size: 8px;"">&reg;</span></sup>. This extraordinary couple is still deeply involved with the Institute – including as philanthropists.

  • women-of-vision
    2012 South Florida Women of Vision

    Meet the four incredible women honored at the American Committee's 14th Women of Vision Luncheon in South Florida: Jen Klaassens, The Wasie Foundation; Cristina Mata, MD, Holy Cross Hospital; Michelle Bernstein, Chef and Entrepreneur; and Mindy Shrago, Young at Art.